In which I lose the Husband to a Concussion and a Giant Wave

Last night, I had a dream that Husband had a concussion.  In my dream, we were back in college but we were working on a play for our current company here in DC.  We were rehearsing in our old rehearsal rooms on the 4th floor of University Hall but for some reason, we just couldn’t find them.  We spent so much time running up and down the stairs trying to reach the 4th floor but we could never get there. At one point, I separated from the group and took a single person-sized elevator that had a button that said “Don’t yeh fucking touch it.”  I tried to get a picture but my memory was full on my phone. 

I finally found the rehearsal and arrived just in time to see Husband get hit in the head with a bust of Mark Twain.  Holding the bust was the stage manager.  I ran up to her and asked her why she had done this and she said “the rehearsal was never going to end and I was hungry.”  She called dinner break and I looked up to see the group start to wander down the stairs which were now located in the BGSU Ice Arena where I had spent many a weekend while growing up. 

The group kept moving and trailing behind was Husband. I told Stage Manager that he had a concussion and as he came into view, I could see that he had a huge purple bruise on the side of his head.  I told him that he needed to sit down while I called the EMTs but he just started to giggle and then ran out of the building.

We chased him across the street which was now the 1A in South Beach.  As we chased him, a huge Tsunami came between us and he was gone.  But not in a scary way – no – the sun was still shining and the weather was beautiful but he has just disappeared.

As the waves receeded, there he was, sitting on a park bench.  Just…waiting. 

And then my alarm went off for a full hour before I got out of bed and I still wasn’t the last person to work!

2 Responses to “In which I lose the Husband to a Concussion and a Giant Wave”


  1. 1 sister December 12, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    you should make a label that says “don’t yeh fucking touch it” and put it on something.


Leave a Reply

