Let’s start again!

It’s been two years since my last post not counting the last last post entitled And I Didn’t Dream for Two Years.

This post is entirely misleading.

I’ve definitely dreamt in the last two years and even more so in the last two months but let’s back up.

When I was officially diagnosed with Hypnagogic Hallucinations my neurologist put me on two medications: an anti-depressant and Ambien.  The anti-depressant was to suppress the dreams and the Ambien was obvious.  I am still on the anti-depressant (which for some reason my Pharmacy has two monthly prescriptions for me so I somehow ended up with a 4-month supply in an overflowing orange bottle) and I remained on the Ambien up until the beginning of last month.  For those of you keeping track at home, we’re looking at about 4 years straight (more or less) of Ambien – a drug which has known side effects such as vomiting, euphoria, disphoria, and hallucinations.  Helpful.

Prior to my decision to stop taking the Ambien, I had spent the last year in a bit of a fog.  Falling asleep was still difficult and waking up in the morning was near impossible.  After meeting with Brain Doctor, he recommended that I go on yet another drug which would counter-act the effects of the Ambien. No, not caffeine. After my insurance refused to pay for this drug, I decided I should try Something New!

In this instance, Something New included stopping the Ambien altogether.

I knew that falling asleep would be difficult for a while but I didn’t realize how hard the Ambien was hitting me each night because, oh boy, did the dreams come back. And how.

Since stopping Ambien, I have had the following dreams:

1. I dreamt that I was living in a world with zombies.  I was a survivor living in a two story house with other people that didn’t seem to understand how zombies worked because each time someone was bit and then died, they would bring them into the house.  I kept telling them that this was a bad plan but no one would listen to me thus creating many more zombies. I finally escaped in a red convertable with a man who definitely represented Daryl Dixon.

2. I dreamt that I was participating in The Color Run only instead of it being a nice warm summer day, we were running this race in the dead of winter. I remember thinking “Oh, this is cool! Now the colored powder will show up even better in the snow!”  I ran the race with some co-workers and after we were finished we returned to a house that we had been renting where our room was the size of a regular bathroom but had all of our furniture piled up so we had to climb over dressers and through piles of clothes to get to our beds.

3. I dreamt I was fishing.  That’s it, Just fishing.

4. Another dream about zombies.

5. Another dream about The Color Run only this time it was at a boy scout camp located on the Bayou where there were many different races going on at the same time.  My friend C was there and had signed up for a different race so I told her to change to my race.  My other friends S and H were there to run The Color Run but I had to pee so I told them to go ahead.  While I was in the bathroom cabin, I heard that the race had started.  I ran out and somehow made it to the start line.  I started to run and came up to a crazy tree house obstacle course that was set over water. I made it up the first rope ladder and realized I was now on a boat dock.  I climbed into a water taxi and saw my friends.  We rode the water taxi until we were along side a rhinocerous with a frat boy riding on his back.  At this point we were allowed to cross the finish line and we were all given a consolation prize of a floor-length, down, day-glo orange winter coat.

6. I dreamt that I was on a cruise with Hubs, J, and L only instead of looking like a Carnival Cruise Ship it looked more like the set for the Titanic (The Movie).  At one point I was running furiously through the ship to my cabin (310) and when I got there, the entire hallway was roped off with yellow police caution tape.  I jumped over it and ran into the room just in time to see another boat pulling away from a neighboring dock. I ran out into the ballroom and realized we were in the middle of an ice storm.  This dream ends here.

7. More zombies, some robots, a few small rodents and a circus.

And, of course, a hallucination…

8. In my sleep I somehow (IRL) turned myself sideways on the bed so my head was hanging off the side.  The hallucination occured when I yelled to Husband that we had somehow pushed the bed away from the wall and everything was starting to get sucked into a black hole.  I finally woke up enough to realize that I was actually pushing my own pillow under my nightstand when I looked up and slammed my head into said nightstand.  I righted myself, fell asleep, and woke up an hour later to Tiny Cat puking on our brand new bed.

I have decided to continue life without the Ambien if for no other reason than I’m having a much easier time remembering in the morning where I parked my car the night before. Except for last night. But I blame that on the convertable sofa that was mistakenly delivered to our house yesterday.

Now, where does this leave me?

The good news – I’m no longer a walking around in an Ambien hangover during the day.

The bad news – I’m still not quite to a full night of sleep since the Ambien is what had been keeping me unconscious each night so I’m a bit tired during the day – much like every other human being on the planet.

The best news is – I should have plenty more fancy dreams for the blog so stay tuned!

0 Responses to “Let’s start again!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

