That’s the last time I stop writing in the middle of a post

I know it’s been a while.  I think the medications have been working.

Anyway, last night, I had a dream that I was the props master for a theatrical production with an awesome theater company in DC.  For some reason, we were performing at the Kennedy Center.  Husband and I were trying to organize everything to make it to the show on time but it was already 8:17pm – 17 minutes after the play was scheduled to begin.

Suddenly, I was on a guided tour of my grandparent’s old house with my running buddy and his husband. We were coming around the outside of the kitchen which had a door I had never seen before.  As we walked past the door there were two very artsy guys in the kitchen sitting on a sofa I had never seen before.  As we walked past the window, one of the guys (who I had never seen before) jumped up very excitedly and opened the door for us.  I walked in and kissed him on the cheek and said “man, I do not want to go back to that tour!”

Just as suddenly, I was standing in the guest room of my own house talking with my mother.  She asked me where the grandparents were and I said that Dad’s parents were sitting in a living room somewhere and her mother was on the tour with my cousin Lauren.  As if watching a flashback or dream sequence like Zach Braff’s character did on Scrubs, we could each turn our heads to the side and we could see my grandparents in one room and my grandmother and cousin on the tour which was now inside a small movie theater. 

The next scene was me in a large auditorium with incredibly ornate white walls. I know that I was there for the Kennedy Center’s Mark Twain Prize but I couldn’t figure out why everyone else was there to see Hot Tub Time Machine

Boss Lady told me that I had forgotten something back at work so in my black tie silver dress I ran through the streets of DC (looking exactly like the area near Grand Central Station in NYC) back to the Kennedy Center.  Magically again, I was back in the theater trying to get everyone to leave th building.  There was a large family who were eating their Sunday dinner in one corner of the audience who just looked at me blankly when I told them the night was over and it was time to go home.  In another part of the theater was a group of – how should I say this – Larry the Cable Guy fans who were all wearing cut off flannel shirts and trucker hats.  They told me they were waiting for Tina Fey to arrive and I told them in no uncertain terms that she wasn’t coming because she didn’t like them. 

**In the interest of full-disclosure, I gave blood in the middle of typing this post and can now no longer remember what happened at the end of the dream.  In this case, I leave you with this. Enjoy!

1 Response to “That’s the last time I stop writing in the middle of a post”


  1. 1 saratoday June 23, 2010 at 2:13 am

    The jewelry is great! I love the bird one. And the fork.


Leave a Reply

