Two dreams for one

Last night I dreamt that I was hanging out in my parent’s backyard (in Ohio) with Dad and Sister and I had my laptop and I was looking for a race to run the next day.  I kept clicking on various races that were in DC and randomly clicked on a race that ended up being in Bowling Green, OH.  A marathon.  In BG.  Yeah…no.  Not going to happen.

Out of nowhere, I suddenly had a map of DC and I was showing Dad the path that a 20 mile race was taking through DC – which, for some reason, encircled American University.  I told him that this was the race that I wanted to run.

Suddenly, it was 10:00am the next day and Dad, Sister and I were in Dad’s minivan driving through Hains Point in DC – literally through the race.  I said “See! I told you there was a race today!”  We very quickly passed mile 8 where the elapsed time was 1 hour 35 minutes but we didn’t see any runners, which is a tad strange.  A second later, we passed another mile marker that listed the time as 85 minutes.  Then we saw the front runners coming up on this sign.  Now, I don’t know if you know anything about running but 85 minutes for the front runners to get to mile 7 is incredibly slow.  I run a 10-minute pace and would be there quicker than that.

Anyway, so that part of the dream ended. And then this part started:

When I was in high school and part of college,  I worked at a single-screen movie theater called the Cla-Zel (named after the original owners Clark and Hazel Young.)  I loved this job.  It was amazing.  We showed a lot of art films and every Saturday at midnight we showed Rocky Horror.  And, occasionally, we showed schlock.  Like ‘Titanic.’  Which we had on opening night…and then for the next 14 weeks.  (Did I mention that this was  a single-screen theater?  Meaning we could only have one movie playing at a time.  Meaning that we would hear it all. Every. Single. Word.  I can recite all of Titanic.  All. Of. It.)

Anyway, it was December 17, 1997 all over again.  Opening NIght of Titanic and for some reason, it was summer.  In December.  It was also daytime.  And every couple getting married in Bowling Green wanted to have their picture taken in front of or inside my theater.

The first bridal party arrives wearing red. I run outside and tell them that they can’t come in the theater due to the film.  As I am talking to this group, another group arrives wearing blue.  While trying to tell the red group to leave, the blue group tries to sneak past me.  I stop them and send them on their way.  I turn around to go back inside and somehow yet another bridal party (also wearing red) has snuck into the lobby and arranged themselves around so the photographer can take their picture.

Again, I tell them all to leave. 

Then I hear a commotion in the theater and I look in and there are bridal parties EVERYWHERE!  Titanic is still playing in the background but there are just brides and grooms and flower girls in every row!  I try to shuffle them out and then another group shows up!  Again and again and again.  Over and over.  And then I woke up.

I’m not going to lie – I think part of this dream was about futility.

3 Responses to “Two dreams for one”


  1. 1 Stacey Garrett October 21, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    I have had the dream where I am layered in wedding dresses


  1. 1 6 + 2.5 = 4 « Lindsey's Sleepytime Fun Blog Trackback on October 25, 2010 at 10:12 am

Leave a Reply

