And then I was in a river

Some of you may know this already, but I am currently training for the Chicago Marathon.  This basically means that I run. A lot. And I dream about running. A lot.  Here’s an example!

Last night I had a dream that I was running in a 10 mile race where all finishers had the option to run the course again if they so desired.  Being the nut-job that I am, I decided that running the course a second time would be really incredibly fun!  So after my first 10 mile loop, I started to run again.

After about a mile (which took about 5 seconds in my dream – oh, if only it were real) I came across this boardwalk/bridge thing.  I started to run up the boardwalk and I heard someone yell “No! You have to run to the side to let people get by!” I move to the side and realize that we are now running up a wooden spiral staircase where runners are running both up and down.  I look to my right as I come around a corner and see that we are running in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean.  On a staircase.  I see that other people are jumping into the ocean and I think “that looks amazing! I should totally do that!” I run up to the top of this staircase where I discover there are no railings and I’m incredibly scared.  I sit down on the ground and I try to peer over the edge but it’s just too high for me. 

I get up and start running back down the staircase until I reach a point where I feel safe to jump into the ocean.  I jump and everything becomes slow motion. I’m turning over and over in the air and as I get close to the water I hear someone yell “No! Not that far out!”

As I hit the water, I realize that it’s not the crystal blue-green salt water of the Atlantic Ocean but rather the murky brown of the Potomac River.  And I’ve landed under a tree.  I start to swim and find that no matter how hard I try, I can’t make any progress in swimming back to the wooden staircase. 

Then, all of the sudden, I’m back on the boardwalk and I see Adam Savage and Jamie Hyneman from Mythbusters walking the opposite direction. I stop Jamie and I tell him that I don’t know where the race path is anymore.  He tells me to come with him and he’ll show me the way. We take about three steps and I see other people running with bibs on. I tell Jamie thanks and that I need to be with the other runners now.

Immediately, I turn and find myself inside a school with a group of older non-running types and I am pushing a bike.  We all start to argue about which way we’re supposed to go until we end up in a very narrow hallway full of brightly colored lockers.  I tell them that I know where we’re supposed to go because I’ve already run this race today. I take the lead up a tiny staircase and we end up in a room that looks surprisingly like the Gryffindor common room in the last Harry Potter movie. 

And then Husband coughed and I woke up.

0 Responses to “And then I was in a river”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

