Giant bug things and Mickey Rooney

Last night, I had a dream that I was at my grandparent’s house back in Ohio.  Husband and I were sitting in the living room which has a door that leads into the garage.  The door was open – which is the biggest no no of human existence when visiting grandma and grandpa.  We heard something out in the garage and looked to see a two foot long, six inch wide cockroach looking thing with about a billion legs. If anyone knows me, then you know that I am petrified of all bugs big and small so naturally I thought that closing the door would be a good idea.  Then, for some inexplicable reason I thought “no, maybe the giant bug won’t come in here” so I reopened the door. 

Big mistake.

The giant bug thing crawled up the stairs and into the room.  Naturally, I ran into the kitchen to escape but the thing was still following me.  And I could hear it crawling.  On the carpet.  With the television on.  Did I mention that it was two feet long? It sounds like it was wearing tap shoes.  Again, I ran further into the house and as I made it to the blue and white family room, I woke up.

Thank god.

Then I went back to sleep and dreamt that I was working an event at a theater where the stagehands sucked. As they were lowering in the cyc which was to show the video of the honoree of the event, the cables snapped and the cyc fluttered to the floor.  Then everyone stood around looking dumbfounded.  (Obviously these stagehands weren’t AW, Dave or Andy) Being the amazing person that I am, I decided to step in to explain that the cyc does, in fact, need to be attached to something in order to work properly. 

At this point I realized that I was wearing a fanny pack so I took it off and handed it to the person in the front row who looked a lot like William Rehnquist but in my head I knew that it was Mickey Rooney.  I continued to help fix the cyc problem and no less than four times did I have to take the same fanny pack off and hand it back to Mickey.  And then I woke up.

1 Response to “Giant bug things and Mickey Rooney”


  1. 1 JMS September 3, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Jesus. I don’t like bugs, don’t get me wrong, but fanny packs? Those things scare the shit out of me!


Leave a Reply

